SOUTH WEST COASTAL WALK IN AID OF CANCER PATIENTS

PUBLISHED: 17:07 14 June 2016 | UPDATED: 12:40 30 August 2017

JJ logo (2)

JJ logo (2)

Walk a section of Jim’s Journey

Jim is inviting people to walk a section of the journeywith him.He is walking 52 sections in total, from Minehead inSomerset to Poole Harbour in Dorset, between Friday10 June 2016 and Thursday 4 August 2016.

The sections, which follow the suggested itinerary ofthe South West Coast Path Association, vary in lengthfrom six to 16 miles. The average is just over 12 miles.Each walk is likely to start by 9am and take betweenthree and eight hours to complete, to include severalstops for photos. The average is likely to be aroundsix hours.

Jim asks that anyone who joins in aims to raise a minimum of £50 in sponsorship, although thisisn’t compulsory. The funds will be split 50-50 between FORCE and Over and Above.Jim will name, photograph and thank every individual who takes part on the Jim’s JourneyFacebook page and Twitter profile, provided they agree.

If appropriate, he will also send the photo and a short article to newspapers and other outletslocal to you.

If the Jim’s Journey dates aren’t convenient, you’re welcome to complete a section or part ofone whenever you like until the end of August 2016, and Jim will publicise your efforts as above.

If you’re interested, please call Jim on 07425 133606 or e-mail him at jims.journey@outlook.com.

Itinerary

Week 1 – Minehead to Westward Ho! (87.5 miles)

This part takes in West Somerset, North Devon and Torridge, crossing the rugged high moorsand woods of Exmoor National Park before passing the surf beaches of Wool acombe andaround the sheltered Taw/Torridge Estuary.

Friday 10 June – Minehead to Porlock Weir (9.5 miles this section) (9.5 miles overall)

Saturday 11 June – Porlock Weir to Lynton (12.3) (21.8)

Sunday 12 June – Lynton to Combe Martin (13.3) (35.1)

Monday 13 June – Combe Martin to Woolacombe (12.6) (47.7)

Tuesday 14 June – Woolacombe to Braunton (15.1) (62.8)

Wednesday 15 June – Braunton to Instow (13.0) (75.8)

Thursday 16 June – Instow to Westward Ho! (11.7) (87.5)

Week 2 – Westward Ho! to Port Isaac (67.6 miles)

This is considered by many to be the toughest but one of the most spectacular parts, withdramatic cliffs south of Hartland Point and a number of hills and valleys to cross as the pathheads from Torridge into North Cornwall.

Friday 17 June – Westward Ho! to Clovelly (11.2 miles this section) (98.7 miles overall)

Saturday 18 June – Clovelly to Hartland Quay (10.3) (109.0)

Sunday 19 June – Hartland Quay to Bude (15.4) (124.4)

Monday 20 June – Rest day

Tuesday 21 June – Bude to Crackington Haven (10.2) (134.6)

Wednesday 22 June – Crackington Haven to Tintagel (11 .4) (146.0)

Thursday 23 June – Tintagel to Port Isaac (9.1) (155.1)

Week 3 – Port Isaac to St Ives (77.4 miles)

Continuing along the North Cornwall coast, this part features a mix of rugged, wild clifftopsinterspersed with headlands, surf beaches and estuaries.

Friday 24 June – Port Isaac to Padstow (11.7 miles this section) (166.8 miles overall)

Saturday 25 June – Padstow to Porthcothan (13.6) (180.4)

Sunday 26 June – Porthcothan to Newquay (11.1) (191.5)

Monday 27 June – Newquay to Perranporth (1 0.8) (202.3)

Tuesday 28 June – Perranporth to Portreath (12.2) (214.5)

Wednesday 29 June – Portreath to Hayle (12.4) (226.9)

Thursday 30 June – Hayle to St Ives (5.6) (232.5)

Week 4 – St Ives to The Lizard (68.9 miles)

Passing through the Cornish Mining World Heritage Site and Land’s End, this is a week ofcontrasts as the path leaves the beauty of St Ives and takes in the remote and wild landscape ofWest Cornwall as well as sheltered valleys on the south coast.

Friday 1 July – Rest day

Saturday 2 July – St Ives to Pendeen (13.9 miles this section) (246.4 miles overall)

Sunday 3 July – Pendeen to Sennen Cove (9.0) (255.4)

Monday 4 July – Sennen Cove to Lamorna (12.1) (267.5)

Tuesday 5 July – Lamorna to Marazion (9.4) (276.9)

Wednesday 6 July – Marazion to Porthleven (1 0.6) (287.5)

Thursday 7 July – Porthleven to The Lizard (13.9) (301.4)

Week 5 – The Lizard to Polperro (84.3 miles)

Heading into South Cornwall, this part features lots of intimate little bays, picturesque fishingvillages and prominent headlands and is said to be one of the less difficult lengths to walk.

Friday 8 July – The Lizard to Coverack (1 0.6 miles this section) (312.0 miles overall)

Saturday 9 July – Coverack to Helford (13.1) (325.1)

Sunday 10 July – Helford to Falmouth (10.0) (335.1)

Monday 11 July – Falmouth to Portloe (13.7) (348.8)

Tuesday 12 July – Portloe to Mevagissey (12.3) (361.1)

Wednesday 13 July – Mevagissey to Par (10.5) (371.6)

Thursday 14 July – Par to Polperro (14.1) (385.7)

Week 6 – Polperro to Torcross (80.8 miles)

This part takes in South East Cornwall, Plymouth and the South Hams and stands out for thebeauty of its estuaries, which are mostly crossed by ferries, interspersed with a mix of wild andmore gentle farmed landscapes.

Friday 15 July – Rest day

Saturday 16 July – Polperro to Portwrinkle (12.6 miles this section) (398.3 miles overall)

Sunday 17 July – Portwrinkle to Plymouth (13.3) (411.6)

Monday 18 July – Plymouth to Wembury (14.8) (426.4)

Tuesday 19 July – Wembury to Bigbury-on-Sea (13.5) (439.9)

Wednesday 20 July – Bigbury-on-Sea to Salcombe (13.7) (453.6)

Thursday 21 July – Salcombe to Torcross (12.9) (466.5)

Week 7 – Torcross to Seaton (71.6 miles)

Continuing through the South Hams and South Devon into East Devon, this part takes in theEnglish Riviera Geopark, a mix of farms and seaside resorts and the start of the Jurassic CoastWorld Heritage Site.

Friday 22 July – Torcross to Dartmouth (10.2 miles this section) (476.7 miles overall)

Saturday 23 July – Dartmouth to Brixham (10.8) (487.5)

Sunday 24 July – Brixham to Babbacombe (12.8) (500.3)

Monday 25 July – Babbacombe to Exmouth (14.3) (514.6)

Tuesday 26 July – Rest day

Wednesday 27 July – Exmouth to Sidmouth (13.1) (527.7)

Thursday 28 July – Sidmouth to Seaton (1 0.4) (538.1)

Week 8 – Seaton to South Haven Point (92.3 miles)

Heading out of East Devon into West Dorset and South Dorset, the final part takes in theJurassic Coast World Heritage Site and its array of stunning geology and scenery.

Friday 29 July – Seaton to Seatown (13.5 miles this section) (551.6 miles overall)

Saturday 30 July – Seatown to Abbotsbury (12.4) (564.0)

Sunday 31 July – Abbotsbury to Wyke Regis (10.9) (574.9)

Monday 1 August – Isle of Portland (13.2) (588.1)

Tuesday 2 August – Wyke Regis to Lulworth (14.1) (602.2)

Wednesday 3 August – Lulworth to Worth Matravers (12.5) (614.7)

Thursday 4 August – Worth Matravers to South Haven Point (15.7) (630.4)

Latest Articles

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Most Read

It's Christmas

South West Attractions

A+ Education

Great British Holidays

Pure Weddings E-edition