PUBLISHED: 09:00 19 March 2014
Trecorme Mill, Quethiock, Nr Liskeard
Guide price £795,000
This charming property is nestled in a beautiful valley close to the quiet village of Quethiock. Legend has it that there has been a mill on the site here since 1503.
Trecorme Mill was extended to create two cottages in the 1800s. Set in beautiful grounds, teeming with wildlife, this home is the epitome of rural tranquillity. The layout is thoughtful and well-suited to a family. A shower room at the rear of the entrance hall is ideal after a day out in the countryside riding or simply enjoying the land in all its glorious seasons.
There are clues to the history of the property throughout the house. The kitchen exposes all the historic features and is a real heart to the home; the ceiling still boasts all the heavy beams that once supported the workings of the building and the original mill wheel is replaced by a stunning view from the picture window out over the garden and valley beyond. A Rayburn provides constant warmth.
The sitting room is bright and airy with two large windows looking out over the courtyard, a fireplace and amazing beams of various shapes run across the ceiling providing an historical viewpoint to the room. A study at the rear is ideal for working from home or simply catching up on your paperwork.
Stairs lead up from the sitting room to the bedrooms which are set across two distinct areas. There are two bedrooms in the old mill as well as the master and guest bedrooms which over look the courtyard. The family bathroom features a roll top bath and view to the garden to enjoy while taking a soak. The practical elements are taken care of, with a spacious and well-designed utility room with a high vaulted ceiling accessed across the courtyard.
The house is reached over a gravelled courtyard with the mill facing out over the garden to a pond and weeping willow tree. To the side is a two-storey barn currently used as a garage and a store. The barn dates back to 1899 and is finished with attractive red brick detailing. The barn has huge potential for conversion, subject to the correct permissions. The garden is mainly set to the side of the mill with a stone pathway following the run of the stream to the pond. A broad patio is ideal for entertaining or just relaxing by the sound of the trickling stream. A small wooden bridge links to the stables which are screened from the mill along with the sand school and provides access to the three paddocks. The well designed stables provide three good loose boxes as well as a generous tack room.
-Historic former mill
-Charming kitchen/dining room
-Spacious sitting room and cosy study
-Two-storey barn and useful outbuildings
-Grounds and paddocks of just under six acres
-Sand school (40m x 20m) and stables
-EPC rating = E
To the rear of the mill is a large nissen hut, ideal for lawn tractors or animals, with a surrounding lawn and small orchard.
Quethiock lies to the east of the River Tiddy and to the north of the Lynher River. The parish is made up of many secluded farms interspersed by small woodland areas. The parish is bounded on the north by St Ive and St Mellion, on the east by Pillaton and Howton, on the south by Landrake and St Germans, and on the west by Menheniot.
To view Trecorme Mill, strictly by appointment, please contact Savills, Lemon Street, Truro
01872 243200 / savills.co.uk